‘Line of Sight’ Sees ODESZA’s Electro-Pop In Fine Cinematic Form

Headlining festivals around the globe and selling out every show since 2015 (including a recent ridiculous sell-out of 20,000 tickets in under an hour at Red Rocks), ODESZA are a force to be reckoned with.

Seattle electro-pop duo Harrison Mills and Clayton Knight have finally released their cinematic music video for ‘Line of Sight‘, a track that fans have begged for nearly three years. This beat-driven single is the start of a new chapter for ODESZA‘s music with even more powerful, cinematic synths and venturing into a much more melodic and introspective soundscape.

“We linked up with WYNNE, and this song started out as an idea that he emailed to us,” Odesza’s Harrisson Mills says. “We traded versions back-and-forth, and also sent the song to Mansionair in Australia, to see if they had ideas for it. They added the backing vocals, and it fit really well with WYNNE’s lead vocal.”

“That process of trading files with collaborators – as opposed to working in person – was something we’ve done on all our releases,” Mills continues. “But since In Return came out, we’ve grown a lot as musicians and producers, and feel like we’re closer than ever to making this bigger cinematic sound we have in our heads.”

The music video is a social statement for the duo, following the journey of a young boy who wakes up alone in a world of chaos and is forced to find his own way. He wanders through an island’s tropical lush and abandoned factories until he eventually finds a robot who, like the boy, was left behind. The two discover an unlikely bond and agree to protect one another from a world they are trying to understand.

Mills said the video illustrates the power of hope and connection: “We may feel like we don’t have control over a situation, whether it’s technology or government or growing up, but through unlikely friendships, we can better understand each other and bridge the gap.”

‘Line of Sight’ will appear on ODESZA‘s upcoming album A Moment Apart, which is to be released later this year in early September. The duo will also be embarking on their global tour and are hitting Australian shores just a week after their release.


ODESZA AU/NZ Tour Dates:

Thursday September 14 | Great Hall, Auckland NZ

Friday September 15 | Forum Theatre, Melbourne VIC *selling fast*

Saturday September 16 | Enmore Theatre, Sydney NSW *selling fast*

ODESZA | A Moment Apart Tracklist

  1. Intro
  2. A Moment Apart
  3. Higher Ground (feat. Naomi Wild)
  4. Boy
  5. Line Of Sight (feat. WYNNE and Mansionair)
  6. Late Night
  7. Across The Room (feat. Leon Bridges)
  8. Meridian
  9. Everything At Your Feet (feat. The Chamanas)
  10. Just A Memory (feat. Regina Spektor)
  11. Divide (feat. Kelsey Bulkin)
  12. Thin Floors And Tall Ceilings
  13. La Ciudad
  14. Falls (feat. Sasha Sloan)
  15. Show Me
  16. Corners Of The Earth (feat. RY X)